This social network app is from the creators of Musical.ly. As Musical.ly officially went offline in late 2018, TikTok (called Douyin in China) has taken its place providing the user the cabability to watch musical clips, create short clips up to one minute and add effects to them.
All of the content which had been hosted on Musical.ly is currently on TikTok. So if your little one experienced a Musical.ly account they will now be able to access this content on TikTok.
What is TikTok? It’s a social networking app that offers users the ability to share 60 second short videos with friends, family or perhaps the entire world. Like Twitter-owned Vine and Musical.ly before it, videos shared range from funny sketches to lip-sync videos featuring special effects. Currently, the app is available in 34 languages with 150 million active users. Like Musical.ly before it, it is most popular with under 16s.
So how exactly does TikTok work? Once you download the app, you can instantly see the videos that others have posted on the channel but are not able to share or post anything till you have set your own account.
How you can create your account – Click on the ‘person’ icon and also you can elect to sign on top of an e-mail, phone or existing Google, Facebook, Twitter or Instagram account. When you have selected an option, you are then asked to enter your date of birth if is below age 13, the app displays these message: “Sorry, looks like you’re not qualified for Read Review. But many thanks for checking us out!”
Your feed highlights what is happening in your neighborhood as well as a separate ‘For you’ feed shows tailored recommendation to suit your needs. Additionally there is a digital wellbeing element which alerts users who may have been on the app for more than two hours
Why do teens love the TikTok? This is a approach to express themselves and produce short-form video clips to achieve a following and build a community around their passions. It also features some terrific effects that users can affect their videos to make them more unique. You can also cross-post the content on other platforms to share it with more people.
Parents have expressed concern around the inappropriate language of a number of the video posted which may get this less suitable for youngsters. Also some of the hashtags produced by users may point to inappropriate content that may encourage some to self-harm. The platform’s community guidelines prohibit this kind of content, therefore if found or reported it is actually blocked or taken down. There is also an active effort from TikTok app moderators to proactively search for trends of hashtags that may highlight content that is prohibited on the platform to adopt it down promptly.
What should parents be concerned about? When you download the app users can see all of the content without creating an account although they are certainly not able to post, like or share anything until they’ve set up an account on the app. You can set up your account by using your existing Google, Facebook, Instagram account, via email or phone.
In the event you put an age that is certainly below age 13 you happen to be blocked from trying to register again. Automatically all accounts are public so anyone on the app can see what your kids shares. However, only approved followers can send them messages. Users can like or respond to a video, follow your account or send messages to each other. There is a risk that strangers can directly contact children on the app.
Does TikTok have any safety features? Like Facebook and Instagram, it features a digital wellbeing element (which can be password protected) which alerts users that have been on the app for over 2 hours. You can also switch on ‘restricted mode’ to filter out inappropriate content on the app.
Also, you can set a free account to become private so that all videos can simply be seen by the creator and no one else on the platform. With a private account, you can approve or deny users and limit incoming messages to followers only.
Please note that even with a private account, your child’s profile photo, username, and bio continue to be visible to any or all users on the platform. The two main privacy settings for your messenger feature – OFF or FRIENDS – which means users cannot start messaging another user unless these are mutually following the other person on the platform. Also, you happen to be unable to send photographs btrwfg videos from the messenger feature to boost safety. You can manage who can comment, duet and direct message your kids on the app.